Wednesday, July 8, 2009


As producers, we hate process because of the constraints, delays, and general bureaucracy it imposes. It's frustrating and slows us down. As consumers, we like it because it helps make the services we consume reliable and improves quality. Process is ultimately about repeatable success.

Here are the most important standard process models and how an understanding of them within the QA context can contribute to repeatable success.

Capabilities Maturity Model Integration (CMMI)

The CMMI characterizes a company's maturity. What is important about the model is that it tells us the characteristics that we need to exhibit to improve our chances of repeatable success. All of our processes in QA should work toward, and be evaluated by, this goal. In this blog, I will expound upon the essential QA components that contribute to climbing the CMMI hierarchy.

Systems Development Life-cycle (SDLC)

I will also discuss how QA test processes correlate to the SDLC and how they contribute to reliable schedules. The SDLC informs us that process is all about deliverables. QA processes help assure deliverable readiness at each phase transition to help assure a software firm consistently meets its delivery schedules with a high quality product.

Every company needs to be successful, so appropriate processes that result in repeatable success are important at any scale.

Todd Shoenfelt

No comments:

Post a Comment